Vyatta Network OS Documentation

Learn how to install, configure and operate the Vyatta NOS, which helps drive our virtual networking & physical platforms portfolio.

Saving configuration

The running configuration can be saved by using the save command in configuration mode. By default, configuration is saved to the config.boot file in the /config configuration directory.

The save command writes only committed changes. If you try to save uncommitted changes, the system warns you that it is saving only the committed changes.

Note: Unless you save your configuration changes to the default configuration file, they do not persist when the system is restarted. On restart, the configuration is loaded from the config.boot file.

Save configuration to the default configuration file

Save the configuration to the config.boot file in the default directory by entering save in configuration mode.


vyatta@vyatta# save
Done
[edit]
vyatta@vyatta#

            
            

Saving configuration to another file

Save the configuration to a different file in the default directory by specifying a different file name.


vyatta@vyatta# save testconfig
Saving configuration to '/config/testconfig'...
Done
[edit]
vyatta@vyatta#

            
            

Saving the configuration to a file provides the ability to have multiple configuration files for different situations (for example, test and production).

You can also save a configuration file to a location path other than the standard /config configuration directory by specifying a different path. You can save to a hard drive, compact Flash, or USB device by including the directory on which the device is mounted in the path.