Vyatta NOS documentation

Learn how to install, configure, and operate Vyatta Network Operating System (Vyatta NOS), which helps to drive our virtual networking and physical platforms portfolio.

delete

Deletes a configuration node.

delete config-node
config-node
A configuration node to be deleted, including the full path, separated by spaces, through the configuration hierarchy to the node.

Configuration mode

Use this command to delete a part of configuration. To do this, you delete the appropriate subnode of a configuration node.

If you show configuration before it is committed, you see the deleted statement flagged with a minus sign (-); the statement disappears after the configuration change is committed.

Some configuration nodes and statements are mandatory; these nodes or statements cannot be deleted. Some configuration statements are mandatory but have default values; if you delete one of these statements, the default value is restored.

The following example shows how to delete a DNS server from system configuration.

vyatta@vyatta# show system name-server <Tab>
10.0.0.30  10.0.0.31  10.0.0.32
vyatta@vyatta# delete system name-server 10.0.0.32
vyatta@vyatta# show system name-server <Tab>
10.0.0.30  10.0.0.31