Vyatta Network OS Documentation

Learn how to install, configure and operate the Vyatta NOS, which helps drive our virtual networking & physical platforms portfolio.

delete log file

Deletes a user-defined log file, including all its archive files.

delete log file file-name
file-name
A user-defined log file in the /var/log/user directory.

Operational mode

Use this command to delete a user-defined log file.

User-defined log files are created in the /var/log/user directory. When you enter this command, the specified file and all associated archive files are deleted from this directory.

Note that deleting the user-defined log file does not stop the system from logging events. If you use this command while the system is logging events, old log events are deleted, but events after the delete operation are recorded in the new file. To delete the file altogether, first disable logging to the file by using the system syslog, and then delete it.