Vyatta Network OS Documentation

Learn how to install, configure and operate the Vyatta NOS, which helps drive our virtual networking & physical platforms portfolio.

Command modes

An overview of the two command modes and their differences.

The Vyatta CLI has two command modes: operational mode and configuration mode.

Operational mode provides access to operational commands for showing and clearing information and enabling or disabling debugging, as well as commands for configuring terminal settings, loading and saving configuration, and restarting the system. When you log in to the system, the system is in operational mode.

CLI command modes shows Vyatta CLI command modes.

Figure 1. CLI command modes

Configuration mode provides access to commands for creating, modifying, deleting, committing and showing configuration information and commands for navigating through the configuration hierarchy.

  • To enter configuration mode from operational mode, enter the configure command.
  • To return to operational mode from configuration mode, enter the exit command. If uncommitted changes remain, you must either commit the changes, by using the commit command, or discard the changes, by using the discard command (or exit discard ), before you can exit to operational mode. If you have not saved the configuration (by using the save command) you are warned that configuration changes have not been saved. When the system is restarted, it loads the last saved configuration.

Entering the exit command in operational mode logs you off the system.